They Never Say When

In a world where shadows loom larger than life, Slim Callaghan, private detective, finds himself ensnared in a web more tangled than any he’s encountered before. ”They Never Say When” thrusts Callaghan into the murky depths of deception and greed, courtesy of a client whose allure is as dangerous as the secret she harbours.

When Mrs. Paula Denys walks into his office, her request is anything but ordinary: she’s paid a man to steal the priceless Denys Coronet from her own husband’s safe, but the deal has soured into blackmail. Callaghan, with his unshakable resolve, takes on the case, stepping into a quagmire of treachery that tests even his seasoned instincts.

As Callaghan unravels the twisted skein, securing the coronet for his client, he’s blindsided by the realisation that Mrs. Denys’s intentions might be far from innocent. Suddenly, the hunter becomes the hunted in a game of cat and mouse that could cost Callaghan more than he’s willing to pay.

Determined to uncover the truth, Callaghan plunges deeper, but in the shadows of a case that’s dubious even by his standards, one question looms: will his insatiable curiosity be his downfall?

Set against the backdrop of 1944, They Never Say When is a classic tale of intrigue and suspense that harks back to the golden age of detective fiction. With every turn of the page, Slim Callaghan reminds us that in the gritty underbelly of crime and betrayal, they never say when the game is up.

Audiobook narrated by Andrew Sterling

  • Author: Peter Cheyney
  • ISBN: 978-91-89822-69-6 (print)
  • ISBN: 978-91-89822-70-2 (e-book)
  • ISBN: 978-91-89822-68-9 (audiobook)
  • Print format Paperback: 135 x 210 mm
  • Pages: 294
  • Published: 17 April 2024
  • Formats: E-book, Print, Audiobook
Comments are closed.